Skip to main content

James Irrigation District

Be sure to check out our Instagram, Face Book, X and YouTube pages for the latest events at the District.


The James Irrigation District was formed in 1920. The District encompasses about 26,418 acres (41.3 square miles) of primarily agricultural land in central Fresno County, including the City of San Joaquin. The District generally extends from the James Main Canal and Fresno Slough Bypass on the east, to the Fresno Slough on the west and a line approximating Nebraska Avenue on the south. The District shares a common boundary with the Tranquillity Irrigation District on its western side.

Major crops grown in the District include almonds, pistachios, grapes, onions, tomatoes, alfalfa, and cotton. Land is irrigated with the District using a variety of methods including drip, drip tape, sprinkler, micro sprinkler, and flood irrigation.

The District is governed by a five-member Board of Directors elected at-large to staggered 4-year terms.

  • President: Riley Chaney
  • Director: Andrew Groppetti
  • Director: Robert Barcellos
  • Director: Cory Carvalho
  • Director: Robert Motte

Regular Board Meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 10:00 a.m. at the District Office.

Manager, Manny Amorelli, administers the District which has 15 full-time employees.

The District is unique as its location has provided the District with six sources of water:

  • San Joaquin Riparian (Class 2)
  • San Joaquin Flood
  • Kings River Entitlement
  • Kings River Flood
  • CVP BOR Contract Water
  • Groundwater

James Irrigation District Dual-use Solar Power - Groundwater Recharge Facility - LIVE NOW


DT_2024 MAY-AUG`.pdf